The Basics Of Western Astrology Explained


This article covers the​ basics of​ Astrology and​ how they are inter-related. Astrology is​ defined as​ 'the art or​ practice of​ determining the​ supposed influences of​ the​ planets and​ their motions on​ human affairs and​ human disposition'. From this practice a​ horoscope can be produced - a​ diagram or chart of​ the​ relative positions of​ planets and​ signs of​ the​ Zodiac at​ a​ specific time, usually the​ time of​ birth. a​ forecast can then be produced.

The Zodiac:

Western Astrology originated way back, around 500 BC, with a​ concept called the​ Zodiac being developed. This comprised of​ an​ imaginary sphere surrounding the​ earth, which followed the​ path of​ the​ Sun through the​ constellations during the​ year. the​ Zodiac was split into twelve sections, each named after the​ specific constellation noted in​ that area.


Many ancient philosophies used a​ set of​ classical elements to​ explain the​ way nature behaved. Each sign was connected to​ one of​ the​ classical elements fire, earth, air, or​ water and​ was also related to​ a​ region of​ focus; social, personal or​ universal.

* Water signs are related to​ growth processes, identification and​ emotion. in​ tandem with the​ other elements, water feels that fire will make it​ boil, air will evaporate it, but earth will shape and​ channel it.

* Fire signs are related to​ action, passion, and​ energy. in​ tandem with the​ other elements, fire feels that earth will smother it, water will drown it, but air will fan and​ enliven it.

* Air signs are related to​ thought, perspective and​ communication. in​ tandem with the​ other elements, air feels that water will obscure it, earth will suffocate it, but fire will inspire and​ uplift it.

* Earth signs are related to​ sensation, stability, and​ practicality. in​ tandem with the​ other elements, earth feels that air will dry it, fire will dry it, but water will refresh and​ nourish it.


Each sign is​ connected to​ one of​ three modalities; cardinal sometimes referred to​ as​ movable, fixed, and​ mutable.

There are four quadrants following the​ order of​ the​ zodiacal signs, with three signs in​ each. Each quadrant describes a​ season, beginning with a​ cardinal sign, continuing to​ a​ fixed sign, and​ ending with a​ mutable sign.

Modalities and​ Related Zodiac Signs:

* Mutable signs are related to​ adaptability, resourcefulness and​ holism. They are Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and​ Pisces.
* Fixed signs are related to​ determination, focus and​ individuality. They are Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and​ Aquarius.
* Cardinal signs are related to​ creativity and​ initiation. They are Aries, Cancer, Libra and​ Capricorn.

Summary of​ Zodiac Sign Characteristics:

* Aries cardinal, fire, personal: defensive, energetic, head down, assertive, impulsive.
* Taurus fixed, earth, personal: patient, indulgent, resourceful, thorough, devoted.
* Gemini mutable, air, personal: quick, logical, inquisitive.
* Cancer cardinal, water, personal: clinging, protective, sensitive.
* Leo fixed, fire, social: theatrical, generous, proud.
* Virgo mutable, earth, social: critically, practical, efficient.
* Libra cardinal, air, social: lazy, co-operative, fair.
* Scorpio fixed, water, social: anxious, passionate, sensitive.
* Sagittarius mutable, fire, universal: careless, free, straightforward.
* Capricorn cardinal, earth, universal: suspicious, prudent, cautious.
* Aquarius fixed, air, universal: detached, democratic, unconventional.
* Pisces mutable, water, universal: distracted, imaginative, sensitive.
The Basics Of Western Astrology Explained The Basics Of Western Astrology Explained Reviewed by Henda Yesti on January 21, 2018 Rating: 5

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.